Blackout: Tales from Storm Desmond

Blackout web image

Event details

  • Fri 13 October - Fri 3 November
  • Please refer to 'Performances' tab below
  • The Dukes, Moor Lane, Lancaster, LA1 1QE
  • 01524 598500

Where were you when the lights went out?

By Sarah McDonald-Hughes | Directed by Alex Summers

10.45pm, Saturday 5th December 2015 – the lights go out across Lancaster, Morecambe and Carnforth, plunging 100,000 people into darkness.

The total power cut leaves communities without communication, transport or information, cut off from the modern world in a blackout of unprecedented proportions.

A girl wanders through the dark city, trying to find her way home…and the flood waters are still rising.

Blackout is an original play inspired by testimony from residents, community organisations, emergency responders, sociologists and journalists, telling the stories of ordinary lives in extraordinary times during the Storm Desmond power cut.

A thrilling account of the chaos, bewilderment and camaraderie of those who weathered the storm together.

Created with and performed by local people.

Kindly supported by The Garrick Charitable Trust. 

Age: 12+

Meet the Makers event Thursday 21 September 6.30pm.  Ask your questions and take a look at how Blackout is created at this free ticketed event.

School workshops: School are available to accompany these performances, specifically tailored for your group. These are available for both primary and secondary schools.  Click here for more details.

Post Show Talk-back: There will be a post show talk-back after the performance on Wednesday 18 October.

We’re extremely grateful to our media partner The Bay for helping us promote the production – as many of you will know they were the sole source of information for many people during Storm Desmond and it’s great to have them on board!

baylogo

Tickets Mon – Thu Fri – Sat
Downstairs £17.50 £19.50
Balcony £15.50 £17.50

Concessions: £2 off

Date Time
Fri 13 Oct 7.30pm
Sat 14 October 7.30pm
Mon 16 Oct 7.30pm
Tue 17 Oct 7.30pm
Wed 18 October 7.30pm
Thu 19 Oct 7.30pm
Fri 20 Oct 7.30pm
Sat 21 Oct 7.30pm
Tue 24 Oct 7.30pm
Wed 25 Oct 7.30pm
Thu 26 Oct 7.30pm
Fri 27 Oct 7.30pm
Sat 28 Oct 2pm 7.30pm
Tue 31 Oct 7.30pm
Wed 1 Nov 2pm 7.30pm
Thu 2 Nov 7.30pm
Fri 3 Nov 9pm

BSL Performance – Saturday 21 October 7.30pm

Audio Description Performance – Friday 20 October 7.30pm. Touch Tour 6pm

Previews – Friday 13 & Saturday 14 October, 7.30pm. All tickets £9.

Early Bird – Book before 21 July and save £2 off each ticket

Friends of The Dukes – Receive an extra £1 off. See Blackout for HALF PRICE on Wednesday 18 October, 7.30pm.

Schools – £9.50 & one teacher free with every ten pupils.

Under 26 – £5 tickets – limited availability!

Groups – Buy 10+ tickets and save £1 per ticket.

*One special offer per ticket. Special offers are not applicable to previews.